About me
Photo de Patric

In a few words

I’m from Biel in the canton of Bern, Switzerland. I currently live in Epalinges, in the canton of Vaud. I am married and have one child.

I started photography in earnest in 2013, and this activity has quickly turned into a passion.

Passionate about nature, I practice mainly wildlife photography as well as macro.

More in detail

 
As a child, I dreamed to have a job related to nature and animals. I imagined already traveling the world to study and photograph the wildlife.
As a teenager, I have had my first computer. It is likely that he had a considerable influence on me, because I finally chose to study computer science, a profession that I still practice today.

Unrealized children dreams become adult frustrations

 

As an Adult, I have long used a compact mainly to capture vacation memories.

In 2011 my childhood dreams probably resurfaced of my subconscious as I felt the need to equip and I acquired my first SLR camera, a Canon EOS 600D kit with the EF-S IS 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 lens. At first I used it as I was using my compact, exclusively using automatic modes (Scenery, Portrait, Macro, …).

The beginning of a passion

 

My wife and I have always loved mountain hikes and walks in nature, but in 2011 we began to multiply the birds observations during family walks.
The kit lens has quickly proved insufficient to photograph birds. So I acquired an EF 75-300mm f4.0-5.6 lens. It was better, but I was not really satisfied with the results. Nevertheless, it allowed me to progress and accompanied me for a while. Using this lens I started to get interested in semi-automatic modes (Aperture Priority and Shutter Priority).

As you may have already noticed, for a photographer birds are almost always too small and too far. So I quickly wanted to gain focal length. By doing some research, I came across the Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM (first version). I considered it the ideal lens for beginners in wildlife photography. Its maximum focal length is very interesting for bird photos and the magnitude of its zoom makes it very versatile.

My wife, being aware of my purchase desire, informed the whole family who made me a wonderful surprise by offering me the object of my dreams for my 40 years, in February, 2014.

The revelation

 

The beginnings with the 100-400mm were for me a revelation. That’s what I like, walking outdoors, away from the bustle of cities, on the lookout for any movement – as stealth as it is – with the secret hope to be able to can make the portrait of a black woodpecker, a lynx or a beaver.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

A propos de moi
Photo de Patric

En quelques mots

 
Je suis originaire de Bienne, dans le canton de Berne, en Suisse. Je vis actuellement à Epalinges, dans le canton de Vaud. Je suis marié et j’ai un fils.

J’ai commencé la photographie de manière sérieuse en 2013 et cette activité s’est rapidement transformée en une passion dévorante.

Passionné de nature, je pratique principalement la photographie animalière ainsi que la macro.

En plus détaillé

 
Enfant, je rêvais d’exercer un métier en rapport avec la nature et les animaux. Je m’imaginais déjà parcourir le monde afin d’étudier et photographier la faune et la flore.
Adolescent, j’ai pu avoir mon premier ordinateur. Il est probable qu’il ait eu une influence non négligeable sur moi, car j’ai finalement choisi d’étudier l’informatique, métier que j’exerce aujourd’hui encore.

Les rêves d’enfants non réalisés deviennent des frustrations d’adultes

 

Adulte, j’ai pendant longtemps utilisé un compact principalement afin d’immortaliser des souvenirs de vacances.

En 2011 mes rêves d’enfant ont du ressurgir de mon subconscient, car j’ai ressenti le besoin de m’équiper et j’ai acquis mon premier appareil Reflex, un Canon EOS 600D en kit avec son objectif EF-S IS 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6. Au début je l’utilisais comme j’utilisais mon compact, c’est-à-dire exclusivement avec les modes automatiques (Paysage, Portait, Macro,…).

Le début d’une passion

 

Ma femme et moi avons toujours aimé les randonnées en montagne ainsi que les balades dans la nature, mais ce n’est qu’en 2011 que nous avons commencé à multiplier les sorties d’observation oiseaux en famille.
L’objectif du kit s’est très rapidement révélé insuffisant pour photographier les oiseaux. J’ai donc acquis un objectif EF 75-300mm f4.0-5.6 d’occasion. C’était déjà mieux, mais je n’étais pas vraiment satisfait des résultats. Il m’a néanmoins permis de progresser et m’a accompagné un moment. C’est également avec lui que j’ai commencé à m’intéresser aux modes semi-automatiques (Priorité ouverture et Priorité vitesse).

Comme vous l’avez peut-être déjà constaté, pour un photographe, les oiseaux sont presque toujours trop petits et trop loin. J’ai donc rapidement eu envie d’acquérir une focale plus grande. En faisant quelques recherches, je suis tombé sur l’objectif Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM (première version). Je le considérais comme l’objectif idéal pour débuter en photo animalière. Sa focale maximale est très intéressante pour les photos d’oiseaux et l’amplitude de son zoom le rend très polyvalent.

Ma femme, ayant eu connaissance de mon projet d’achat, elle en a fait part à toute la famille qui m’a fait une magnifique surprise en se cotisant pour m’offrir l’objet de mes rêves pour mes 40 ans, en février 2014.

La révélation

 

Mes débuts avec le 100-400mm furent pour moi comme une révélation. C’est cela que j’aime, me promener dans la nature, loin de l’effervescence des villes, à l’affût de tout mouvement, aussi furtif soit-il et avec le secret espoir de pouvoir tirer le portrait d’un pic noir, d’un lynx ou d’un castor.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This